Have you ever been updating an IDF, adding an Therap appointment or adding a shared contact and think “There’s just too many!” well, this is what makes therap great. You CAN DELETE!. Now, if you just created a therap contact and realized there was another one, the best thing to do is to delete it. otherwise, when you delete a shared contact and it’s been used (such as in appointments, IDF’s etc) all that information will be Poof! Gone.

But fear not, the wonderful programmers have made their way around it. So, in order to DISCONTINUE a Shared Contact, and clean up the giant mess that shared contacts can become you must:

 

1. Have the Admin Ability assigned to you via a Super Admin in your Therap System.

2. Go to the Admin Tab on Dashboard.

3. Under General: Shared Contact: Click “List”.

This gives you the big giant list of shared contacts for your organization. Now looking at them all can all the pages can seem like they’re endless. Cleaning up your Shared Contact list is a bit tedious, but worth it in the end.

so Now that you’ve got the list, what to do?

1.  Find the Shared Contact you are no longer using and click on it.

2. At the Bottom Right corner, you’ll see 2 options.

“Update” or “delete”.

3. Click Delete. ( yes, we will discontinue it, but to get there, we have to click the Delete button :) )

4. Now therap will automatically tell you if your Shared Contact is already in use (such as any past appointments, IDF’s, etc) and where it is being used at.

For Example: If it’s an old pharmacy, it will show you all the old IDF’s it was being used in, or it is being used in (if you haven’t updated those IDF’s like you were supposed too. )

5. Now we know where the Contact is being used, on the bottom right is the Discontinue button. This is great, because it allows us to get it off the shared contact list, but still have the information available if we need it and can be found in the archives (i’ll save the archives for a later post :) )

6. You have now been transported back to the beginning and will see the long list of all your shared contacts again and at the top it will confirm that the shared contact was discontinued.

You then just repeat the process until your Shared Contact List is Short and Simple.

Hope this helps all of you out there that have a Shared Contact list longer the Pi. :)

Happy Spring Cleaning of all those Pesky unused Contacts!.

– Racheal.